In accordance with Article 13 of the UNISG Statutes, the Rector directs the academic and scientific activities of the University of Gastronomic Sciences, as outlined in the Statutes. The Rector is named by the Board of Directors from among UNISG staff professors and members of the wider academic community who have contributed to the successful functioning of the university. The appointment is initially for three years and may be extended.

Professor Bartolomeo Biolatti was named Rector of the University of Gastronomic Sciences on September 1st, 2021.

According to art. 13.4 of the Statute, the Rector can appoint, from among the tenured professors of the University, a Prorector called to replace him in case of absence or impediment; the Prorector can be delegated to carry out specific functions for individual sectors.

From 1st October 2019, the Prorector of the University of Gastronomic Sciences is prof. Nicola Perullo, in office until the end of the Rector’s mandate.

Because the University of Gastronomic Sciences has a single faculty, a Faculty Council stands in place of an Academic Senate, in accordance with Article 30 of the General University Regulations. The Faculty Council is responsible for the duties outlined in Article 17 of the University Statutes as well as those normally assigned to an Academic Senate, as outlined in Article 15 of the Statutes. The Faculty Council is responsible for the rules, planning, and coordination of all academic and research activities not managed by other UNISG offices, as well as the academic and research structure.

As per Article 16.4 of the Statues, the Faculty Council is made up of the Dean, who presides over it, UNISG staff professors, and representatives of the researchers and the current students. These representatives are elected by all in-session and post-session students, as specified in the Regulations. Members:

Rector Prof. Bartolomeo Biolatti

Full and Associate Professors:
Prof. Andrea Pieroni
Prof. Lorenzo Bairati
Prof. Roberta Cevasco
Prof. Simone Cinotto
Prof. Paolo Corvo
Prof. Franco Fassio
Prof. Michele Antonio Fino
Prof. Maria Giovanna Onorati
Prof. Nicola Perullo
Prof. Luisa Torri

Researcher Representative:
Dott. Michele Fontefrancesco

Student Representative:
Maddalena Castellani
Hannah Mcclelland

The Board of Directors, in accordance with Article 9 of the Statutes, oversees the administrative, financial, economic, and capital management of the University of Gastronomic Sciences, as well as regular and exceptional governance, including the underlying decision-making procedures needed to ensure the achievement of the institutional objectives. Members:

Carlo Petrini – Presidente

Silvio Barbero

Bartolomeo Biolatti

Massimo Bottura
Luciana Castellina
Lella Costa
Oscar Farinetti
Luigi Fiorentino
Piercarlo Grimaldi
Francesca Lavazza
Roberto Moncalvo
Sergio Panero
Daniela Pirani
Pasquale Polito
Fulvio Prandi
Giovanni Quaglia
Rinaldo Rava
Domenico Siniscalco
Pierluigi Zamò

The Executive Committee, in accordance with Article 10 of the General University Regulations, manages those powers as assigned the Board of Directors. Members:

Carlo Petrini

Committee members:
Silvio Barbero
Bartolomeo Biolatti
Sergio Panero
Rinaldo Rava

In accordance with Article 14 of the Statues, the Administrative Director is named by the Board of Directors on the recommendation of the President, and is responsible for the university’s administration. Stefania Ribotta was named Administrative Director of the University of Gastronomic Sciences on April 15, 2011.

The Board of Auditors, in accordance with Article 28 of the Statutes, maintains the accounting systems and prepares the financial statements. Members:

Dott. Vladimiro Rambaldi

Permanent auditors:
Dott. Francesco Palanza
Dott. Antonio Di Donato

The Evaluation Committee, in accordance with Italian Law No. 370 of October 19, 1999, evaluates internal administration, academic and research activities, and study-support services, by verifying cost-benefit analyses, proper use of public resources, and academic and research productivity, as well as the impartiality and smooth flow of administrative operations.

Learn more >

UNISG student representatives for the current academic year:

Disciplinary Committee
Niccolò Frascione

Student Council:

Marti Mestre – Corso di Laurea – 1 anno

Costanza Gimbo – Corso di Laurea – 2 anno

Ella Van Dolderen e Aida Wiesner  – Corso di Laurea – 3 anno

Mallory Cerkleski ed Edoardo Borsatto – Corso di Laurea Magistrale – 1 anno

Luca Conte – Creativity, Ecology and Education

Gaia Do Amaral – World Food Cultures and Mobility

Giovanna Gigante – Master of Applied Gastronomy: Culinary Arts

Katharina Von Falkenhausen – Master in Food Culture, Communication & Marketing (FC26)

Ludovica Fallanca – Master in Food Culture, Communication & Marketing (FC27)

Penelope Spica – Master in Agroecology and Food Sovereignity

Dean Jezwinsky – Master in Wine Culture and Communication

Rebeckah Burnette – Scholarship

Edoardo Martini – ASSG President

Fabio Vannucci – Condotta Leader